Healthy Costs

Here’s the deal Y’all….. This year, I am committed to getting healthy. Really healthy. The kind of  organic- eating- smoothie- making- calorie- counting- working- out- no- matter- what- colon- cleansing- fitness- freak- health- nut I would normally want to slap.

I’m done. I want to wear clothes I’ve “out-grown” and I want to shop where “regular” women shop. I want to stop carrying a huge purse that covers half my butt, and I want to take a fitness class outside of my living room without being self conscience. My sister- in- law is all of the above, and because she loves me (and because I’ve only ever called her an organic- eating- smoothie- making- calorie- counting- working- out- no- matter- what- colon- cleansing- fitness- freak- health- nut in my head) she’s helping me. A lot.

And so far, so good. I’m excited about my life style change, and the (small) results so far. Here’s the one issue…..

The. Cost.

It’s expensive to be healthy. And Wal-Mart doesn’t exactly have a health food section. For example, today I had to order Organic Coconut Oil online. It was $20, plus shipping. Luckily, I spend a lot of money at Amazon, and I get free shipping, but not the point Y’all. Wesson vegetable oil? It’s like $3. I also ordered organic almond butter…. $8 vs. Jif at $2.

Now, I’m chalking all of this up to an investment in my (and my family’s future) but, that coconut oil better last until kid #1 goes to kindergarten…. Just saying…..

Published in: on January 14, 2010 at 5:44 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sarabethcombs.wordpress.com/2010/01/14/healthy-costs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I hear ya girl! I have always thought that every time I look at the healthier stuff in the store!

    But, I will always use Jif, just because I can’t handle having to stir my peanut butter before using it! 😉

    You will do great!


Leave a Reply

